• We just released our 2017 Baseball Youth MAJORS Week-Long Experience dates! Click HERE!
  • Request An Invite to play in our Baseball Youth All-American Games this SUMMER!
  • Over 290,000 FANS follow us on Facebook! See what your missing! Search Baseball Youth!
  • MAKE A STATEMENT - Play in our Baseball Youth Future Games. Click HERE to learn more!
  • Our 2017 Baseball Youth NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS at Grand Park is July 27-30, 2017! Click HERE! #BYNC
  • The final Baseball Youth's Elite 25 Rankings have been released! Click HERE to check 'em out! #Elite25
  • Does your team want to be profiled on E-mail us!
  • Subscribe to Baseball Youth, The Nation's Baseball Magazine for Kids
Home » News » Ripken Baseball Adds 2 International Teams to 15th Annual Cal Ripken World Series

Ripken Baseball Adds 2 International Teams to 15th Annual Cal Ripken World Series

New Zealand and Puerto Rico will join Japan and five other International teams at the 15th Annual Cal Ripken World Series in August. - Photo courtesy of Eclipse Sportswire

Aberdeen, Md. – Ripken Baseball announced the addition of New Zealand and Puerto Rico to the international division competing at the 15th annual Cal Ripken World Series (CRWS), the Babe Ruth League’s premier event, featuring elite 11- and 12-year-old youth baseball players from around the world. The two countries will join the 10 domestic teams and six international teams competing for the CRWS Championship title at The Ripken Experience Aberdeen Powered by Under Armour complex in Maryland.

“We are excited to welcome New Zealand and Puerto Rico to the Cal Ripken World Series,” said Colin Clark, VP of Marketing, Ripken Baseball. “By expanding our global reach, we are able to generate a more competitive atmosphere and greater excitement for athletes who come to Aberdeen to showcase their talent and passion for the game, the Ripken Way.”

The Cal Ripken World Series is where the world comes to play, the Ripken Way, and is the culminating tournament of the Babe Ruth League’s 12u Cal Ripken Division. The World Series unites the 10 best teams from across the United States, and eight international teams from Australia, Canada, Dominican Republic, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of Korea, along with the addition of New Zealand and Puerto Rico. Team Japan is currently the three-time defending CRWS Champions.

“Babe Ruth League Inc. is very pleased to announce the additions of New Zealand and Puerto Rico to the International Division of our Major 70 World Series. Our partnership with the Ripken Baseball organization is dedicated to growing the game of baseball,” stated Steven Tellefsen, Babe Ruth League President & CEO. “By adding these two countries, we continue this mission and strengthen the competition.  The Cal Ripken Major 70 Division World Series is the culmination of thousands of 12 year old players who have competed to earn the opportunity to play in a world class facility and become World Champions.”

The 15th annual Cal Ripken World Series will take place from Friday, August 8 through Saturday, August 16. All championship games will air Live on CBS Sports Network. Domestic teams will be determined during their respective regional tournaments in July.

Press release provided by Maroon PR and Ripken Baseball.